Ayr and Alloway Curling Club

Friendly atmosphere. competitive edge…

Opening game

27 Sept 2017 5pm
New members always welcome
President Alistair accepts the badge of office
See 2016/17 Prizewinners

League Winners!

Geoff wins the 2016/17 League in a very tight finish
League Table

Latest News

Opening Day bonspiel

Ayr and Alloway were invited to play on the Opening Day of the new season on Monday 18th September. Our rink was skipped by Jim Nelson with Ronnie...
Read More

Curling at Ayr Ice Rink

Have you ever wondered how the management of the Ice rink is structured? Why do we have a Board of Directors and a Club committee? What does the...
Read More

Ayr and Alloway Curling Club was founded in 1854 and with its present-day mixed membership it is one of the largest clubs playing at Ayr Ice Rink.

The Club has 40 Playing members (an even mixture of men and  women) who comprise the 10 teams which contest the League and Knock-out competitions throughout the season.

Wallace Allan

Wallace Allan is still very competitive

The playing members are supported by a good pool of Playing Reserves.  Most of the active reserves can be assured of many games throughout the season, being in demand when regular players are unavailable through holidays, illness etc. We are still very keen to recruit new members. Contact the secretary for details.

The Club meets at Ayr Ice Rink, Limekiln Road, Ayr with all ten rinks taking five sheets of ice every Wednesday at the same time, usually at 5.00pm.  As a result of this scheduling it means that members can enjoy and generate a good club atmosphere before, during and especially after every keenly contested game thereby enhancing the very sociable and friendly reputation of the Club.  When playing at the 5.00 pm session several members will thereafter enjoy a meal provided by the Ice Rink caterers.

Upcoming Matches

Knockout 5pm

When: Wed September 27 17:00 - 20:00

Knockout 5pm

When: Wed October 4 17:00 - 20:00

Knockout 5pm

When: Wed October 11 17:00 - 20:00

Knockout 5pm

When: Wed October 25 17:00 - 20:00

Knockout 5pm

When: Wed November 1 17:00 - 20:00

Knockout 5pm

When: Wed November 8 17:00 - 20:00
Full list of Events

Knock Out Competition

1 2 3 4 5
Alan Richmond Ronnie Wilson Rigmor McAndrew Peter Kennedy David Scott
Muir Austin Sheila Campbell Murray Hutchison Paul Williams Scott McAndrew
Annette Paterson Anne Cooper Alicia Smith Dorothy Dawson Liz Tait
Carol Simpson Alistair Tyre Bella Kennedy Geoff Barber David Gray
6 7 8 9 10
Maureen McVey Peter Christy Linda Wilson Willie Scott Jean Thomson
Shirley Scot Bill Aiken June Richmond Alan McHarg Ken Gray
Jane Cherry Elma Stevenson Bill Black Harry Peters Anne Carruthers
Jim Nelson Ed Baines Alan McKinlay Alex Thomson Charlie Steele

League winners 2016/17

Opening game 28 Sept 2016


Sandy Gow, second left

Contact: Secy Alan McKinlay 01292 443600 alan.mckinlay@dsl.pipex.com

Contact: Ayr Ice Rink 01292 263034 ayrshirecurlers@btconnect.com

Contact: Ice Rink Caterers 07732 338581 Passion Caterers