The Rink Championship is a major competition, but receives little exposure. Local clubs enter teams to compete to represent each ice rink at the national finals in Forfar, late in the season. Surprisingly only eight rinks play in it.

Ayr and Alloway, to their credit, always enter a rink and play against the recognized “top rinks” of Galston, Sorn, Fairywell, Crosshill and Dundonald.

This year, our intrepid band of Skip Ed Baines, Charlie Steele, Alan McKinlay and Willie Scott took on Galston 1, represented by Arran Cameron, Paula McClelland, Mary Shaw and Chris Rowley. AACC opened with a single shot, then lost a three, after looking good part way through the end. Fighting back with a two, levelled the scores, however on end 5, Galston’s skip played a perfect angled raise to remove AACC’s shot, and lay three, resulting in Galston leading by two after end 5. A useful single in the sixth end gave AACC a real chance to pull off a victory. On the last end, Galston’s second Mary, managed to hit and roll into cover, making it difficult to hit. Ed attempted a tricky raise, with his stone just drawing too much, leaving Galston the winners.

Although starting as the underdogs, these games are good for Ayr and Alloway players, and we should always enter a rink into such competitions.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

Cookie Compliance AACC – use cookies to help monitor aggregated visitor statistics using the industry standard Google Analytics software and to help enhance your user experience on the site in other ways from time to time. You can control your acceptance of cookies and/or disable them entirely in your web browser settings. The latest versions of leading browsers provide even more control over how your browser handles cookies. By continuing to use this website you acknowledge that your browser settings are sufficient to indicate your consent to the use of first party cookies to help improve overall usability and refine the content and service we offer. 7 August 2018